Motorists Gone Wild

Changing the subject from journalism to irritation-ism, Bowling Green driving habits have been a source of many letters to the editor over the years. Tailgating seems to be most popular driving style. Speeding remains a popular pastime as well.

Often, looking in a rear-view mirror, you can discover soccer moms talking on cellphones while driving SUVs the size of Rhode Island only a few feet from your bumper. Their hair may be standing on end, faces locked in a grimace, perhaps a hand gesture or two in your mirror’s frame, while you plod along at or near the speed limit.

So how do you react to tailgaters?

I keep more distance from the car ahead of me so if I need to react quickly, I have more room to maneuver. Under no circumstances do I allow such pressure to make me speed up. In fact, I sometimes slow down to create more space between my vehicle and the one in front of mine. I sense tailgaters hate me.

Here’s an infuriating example of tailgating gone wild. One morning, I was leaving my neighborhood, where many kids play, older adults take walks, etc. I was passed, in a 25 mph zone, by a young motorist who proceeded to reach a speed of about 50 mph after becoming disgruntled by my 20-plus mph gait.

If you’re a habitual tailgater, let’s hear your side of the issue as well. I want insight into the minds of motorists.

Share some experiences. I’m extremely curious.

4 Responses to Motorists Gone Wild

  1. Mark says:

    Hi,
    My name is Mark and I am a tailgater.

    Up to a certain speed – about 30 mph.

    Here’s the deal. If you’re going from zero to 30 and I’m going 30 I can be within a car length and see thru your windshield and see what you are seeing.
    That’s my theory and I’m sticking too it.

    When we are stopped at a traffic light? I will be within 2 feet of your car. Now in your rear view mirror it will look like I’m in your backseat. I’m not, and hopefully you don’t feel the need to suddenly reverse course. I’m just trying to see what radio station you are listening too.

    Wanna ride?

  2. David says:

    When i am being tailgated by someone for more than a mile or so i like
    to slam on my brakes suddenly and watch them swerve all over the place
    trying to avoid hitting me. It’s amusing and it also does the trick, They tend to back off and pay closer attention afterward.

  3. Pete says:

    Both the original piece by Andy and the response by David describe the pleasure that people feel from irritating others. While it may be fun, is it is dangerous to purposely anger and irritate other motorists. It is the same as taunting a gunman or cornering a lion – not a good idea because serious injury is possible.

    Speed limits are set artifically low and that is why nobody obeys them. Next time you are sharing the road with other motorists, consider driving at the usual flow of traffic, rather than an artifically low speed. A few mph faster is far safer than purposely angering other motorists.

  4. Andy Dennis says:

    Pete: As a point of clarity, my reason for slowing is to create more space between myself and the motorist in front of me. However, your point is well taken. Interesting, thank you.

